探索我的圖書館
searchclose
shopping_cart_outlined
exit_to_app
category_outlined / 新聞 & 政治
ReasonReason

Reason

June 2019

Reason is the monthly print magazine of "free minds and free markets." It covers politics, culture, and ideas through aprovocative mix of news, analysis, commentary, and reviews. Reason provides a refreshing alternative to right-wing and left-wing opinion magazines by making a principled case for liberty and individual choice in all areas of human activity.

國家/地區:
United States
語言:
English
出版商:
Reason Magazine
閱讀更多keyboard_arrow_down
訂閱
$424.88
11 期號

本期

access_time2 最少
reason

Editor in Chief Katherine Mangu-Ward (kmw@reason.com), Publisher Mike Alissi (malissi@reason.com), Editors at Large Nick Gillespie (gillespie@reason.com), Matt Welch (matt.welch@reason.com), Managing Editor Stephanie Slade (sslade@reason.com), Art Director Joanna Andreasson (joanna@reason.com), Features Editor Peter Suderman (peter.suderman@reason.com), Books Editor Jesse Walker (jwalker@reason.com), Senior Editors Brian Doherty (bdoherty@reason.com), Damon Root (droot@reason.com), Jacob Sullum (jsullum@reason.com), Science Correspondent Ronald Bailey (rbailey@reason.com), Associate Editors Christian Britschgi (christian.britschgi@reason.com), Elizabeth Nolan Brown (elizabeth.brown@reason.com), Mike Riggs (mriggs@reason.com), Scott Shackford (sshackford@reason.com), Robby Soave (robby.soave@reason.com), Assistant Editors Billy Binion (billy.binion@reason.com), Zuri Davis (zuri.davis@reason.com), Joe Setyon (joe.setyon@reason.com), Reporters Eric Boehm (eric.boehm@reason.com), C.J. Ciaramella (cj.ciaramella@reason.com), Web Developer Justin Maurer (justin.maurer@reason.org), Editorial Assistant Mary Toledo (mtoledo@reason.org)Executive Editor, Reason TV Meredith Bragg (mbragg@reason.com), Managing Editor, Reason TV Jim Epstein (jim.epstein@reason.com), Producers Austin Bragg (austin.bragg@reason.com), Paul Detrick (paul.detrick@reason.com), Alexis Garcia (agarcia@reason.com), Ian Keyser (ian.keyser@reason.com), Todd Krainin (todd.krainin@reason.com),…

access_time6 最少
the cat in the hat is right about parenting

WHY DO PARENTS still read The Cat in the Hat to their children? The cat gives terrible advice, after all. His risk assessments are poor. He urges reluctant kids to break rules. His games are unstructured and seemingly pointless; “UP-UP-UP with a fish” is certainly not going to get anybody into college. He’s a stranger who has broken into their house while they are unsupervised, bringing unsuitable companions with him. All in all, the book seems to cut against everything today’s parents stand for.Perhaps Dr. Seuss now functions as the Grimm Brothers once did, offering fantastical tales of transgressive horror swathed in comforting repetition. As in classic fairy tales—and even in their Disney adaptations—parents must be gotten out of the way before kids can come into their own. All the…

access_time5 最少
when did play become occupational therapy?

THE “WALKING WINGS Learning to Walk Assistant” is a vest that goes around your baby with long straps on the top that you can yank to pull him or her upright, like a marionette. According to the product website: “When the child is strapped into the safety harness, they can be held up by an adult walking behind them. This encourages the child’s natural instinct to use their legs and develop muscle strength.”A set of emotion flash cards boasts: “Teach your student emotional intelligence (EQ). IQ gets you through school but EQ gets you through life!” According to the product description, “a high quality photograph on the front of each card teaches a child to label emotions” while “the back of each card teaches a child how these emotions feel…

access_time2 最少
kids aren’t rushing to get their driver’s licenses…

THE SHARE OF teens with driver’s licenses peaked in 1983, when 72 percent of Americans aged 16–19 were legally approved to drive. Today, only about 50 percent are.The decline has stupefied many a baby boomer and Gen Xer, who can’t imagine why young people today don’t want to hit the open road. Writing in The Atlantic in May 2018, Penn State professor Gary Cross fretted about the loss of that “magical age of 16, when suddenly a world opened up.” The Washington Post in 2015 dedicated more than 2,000 words to how America’s love affair with cars was “cruising towards oblivion” because those damn kids don’t want to drive.What do teens actually say? According to a University of Michigan survey, the two most common reasons given for not having a…

access_time3 最少
…or to have sex!

FOR DECADES, AMERICAN parents and policy makers have fretted about the sexual proclivities of American teenagers. Now that studies suggest a slight upward trend in the average age of first sexual encounter, alarmists have found a way to twist this into cause for concern, too.“Some observers are beginning to wonder whether an unambiguously good thing might have roots in less salubrious developments,” The Atlantic’s Kate Julian wrote in December. “Signs are gathering that the delay in teen sex may have been the first indication of a broader withdrawal from physical intimacy that extends well into adulthood.”Put more simply: Along with suffering from gnat-like attention spans and increasing levels of narcissism, internet-addicted young people have allegedly lost their desire—and perhaps ability—to physically connect.But there’s little good data to support these pessimistic…

access_time3 最少
the drug war’s hidden foster care crisis

BETWEEN 2012 AND 2016, the number of children placed annually into foster care in the U.S. increased by 10 percent. A significant driver of the rise was opioid addiction.According to the most recent U.S. Department of Health and Human Services (HHS) annual report, out of the nearly 269,000 children who entered foster care in fiscal year 2017, some 96,000 were removed from their homes due to parental substance abuse—the second largest category behind neglect. In many cases, HHS reports, officials could not avoid placing children in foster care because so many extended family members were also addicted to opioids.Lurking behind this figure is another sad truth: As the opioid crisis exploded, treatment options and nonpunitive public policies for dealing with substance abuse lagged far behind, while zero-tolerance attitudes and deep…

help