EXPLOREMY LIBRARY
searchclose
shopping_cart_outlined
exit_to_app
category_outlined / Food & Wine
Healthy Food Guide UKHealthy Food Guide UK

Healthy Food Guide UK

September 2019

Healthy Food Guide is like having your own personal dietitian in your bag. Every issue brings together a mix of delicious and nutritious recipes, expert nutrition advice and informative health features in one glossy compact magazine.

Country:
United Kingdom
Language:
English
Publisher:
Eye to Eye Media
Read Morekeyboard_arrow_down
BUY ISSUE
R43,22
SUBSCRIBE
R397,64
12 Issues

IN THIS ISSUE

access_time1 min.
hello

Gut health has been a personal and professional focus lately, as more and more research links a healthy gut to a healthy body and, increasingly, a healthy mind. Since retuning my own diet, I’ve felt more energised and suffered fewer headaches (blockbuster migraines are a thing of the past). As well as eating live yogurt with its beneficial probiotics, I’ve expanded into kefir and kombucha. Sorry, sauerkraut and fermented veg, you’re not for me. In our feature on p16 Professor Ted Dinan explains the latest positive gut-brain research. My other health mission has been learning about CBD oils. I spoke to expert Dr Dani Gordon, who cleared up confusion around their benefits and what to look for. For me, CBD products have helped with sleep. Our three inspiring case studies share…

access_time1 min.
editor’s buys

PORTABLE OIL A mini-size bottle of extra-virgin olive oil is a godsend when you’re eating on the go. One for your lunchbox. Filippo Berio Extra Virgin Olive Oil, £1.29/100ml, Tesco QUALITY CHOC SNACK Glossy, 80% smooth cacao chocolate that comes in neat portion-controlled bars, each with just 70 calories. You can also melt them into a hot choc shot. 80Noir Ultra Chocolate Bars, £10.50/15 x 13.5g bars, carolearmitage.co.uk JUST THE TONIC A low-sugar tonic with 5mg CBD for relaxation. Great on its own or with alcohol-free Ceder’s (see p80) . BumbleZest CBD Tonic Water With Ginger, Cinnamon & Lemon Juice, about £2/200ml, health food shops…

access_time2 min.
meet our experts

‘I keep the summer feeling going as long as I can with Med-inspired dishes for dinner, breakfast outside at weekends – and using after-sun as a moisturiser to keep the smell of summer lingering.’ JULIETTE KELLOW is a registered dietitian who’s worked in the NHS, the food industry and within the media ‘For me, the new term means getting back into a routine with my children, and that always invigorates me to try new recipes, plan our food shopping and stop relying solely on salads (and rosé!).’ JENNIFER LOW is a dietitian who works as a consultant for the NHS and in the private sector. She specialises in IBS ‘Having always been affected by SAD, I try to get outside as much as possible in the slowly declining daylight hours. A good long walk…

access_time1 min.
this month we asked…

Can you share your health enthusiasm for the new ‘term’? ‘I’m more physically active in the summer holidays and I want to carry this into the cooler months. I’ve been doing plenty of gardening, which has involved carrying, stretching and lots of effort. I’ve seen my body respond by becoming stronger and I’m determined to keep this up. It’s going to take some discipline to fit into my normal working week.’ AMANDA URSELL is HFG’s nutrition editor. She has a degree in nutrition and a post-graduate diploma in dietetics…

access_time2 min.
why you can trust us

We look at the science behind the headlines to clear up mixed messages about current health issues. Our experts examine the body of evidence, never just one isolated study, before presenting information as fact. You’ll find the references to our news and features on p96. We promote a balanced way of eating Our dietitians and nutritionists are fully qualified and can help you break free from yo-yo dieting. Our recipes come in satisfying portion sizes, use everyday ingredients and are well balanced. Our experts never recommend cutting out key food groups unless you have an intolerance or allergy. We fight the fads We keep up to date with new products (and share our top picks every month) but will never recommend an ingredient or food just because it’s ‘trending’. Guide to recipe symbols…

access_time1 min.
healthy food guide uk

Editor Melanie Leyshon 020 7803 4106 melanie.leyshon@eyetoeyemedia.co.uk Art director Tina Betts 020 7803 4133 tina.betts@eyetoeyemedia.co.uk Assistant editor Liz Atkins 020 7803 4109 liz.atkins@eyetoeyemedia.co.uk Senior sub editor Stephanie Thomson 020 7803 4128 stephanie.thomson@eyetoeyemedia.co.uk Editorial assistant Trinity Hislop 020 7803 4128 trinity.hislop@eyetoeyemedia.co.uk Nutrition editor Amanda Ursell Recipe consultant Phil Mundy With thanks to Becky Brannigan, Diana Galligan Head of digital Vic Grimshaw 020 7803 4143 vic.grimshaw@eyetoeyemedia.co.uk Digital editor Rebecca Brett 020 7803 4130 rebecca.brett@eyetoeyemedia.co.uk Assistant digital editor Fiona Logan 020 7803 4130 fiona.logan@eyetoeyemedia.co.uk Digital editorial assistant Ellie Donnell 020 7803 4134 ellie.donnell@eyetoeyemedia.co.uk ADVERTISING SALES Group advertising director Jason Elson 020 7150 5397 Head of sales & business development Anna Priest 020 7150 5191 Client services manager Catherine Nicolson 020 7150 5044 Classified sales executive Lydia Bedding 020 7150 5734 Managing director Seamus Geoghegan 020 7803 4123 seamus@eyetoeyemedia.co.uk Publishing director Adrienne Moyce 020 7803 4111 adrienne.moyce@eyetoeyemedia.co.uk Consultant editorial director Jo Sandilands Production director…

help